"Goodmans is what I was looking for: a friendly, supportive environment within which to practise great law." - Jane Scholes, Goodmans Student
Goodmans Students

Our Articling Program

Our articling program works on a rotation basis that gives you exposure to four different sections of the firm.  Students can choose from rotations in Business law, Banking law, Real Estate law, Restructuring, Taxation, Litigation, Administrative law and more.  A number of you will also have the opportunity to work directly with the law department of one of our major clients. Because every student has different goals and interests, we look to you to play an active role in selecting the areas of practice which are right for you. And as your goals often change during the year, we continue to meet during the year to assess how your rotation choices can best fulfill your needs. 

Each section has a student mentor who meets with you on a regular basis to find out how you're progressing and ensure that you're getting a well-rounded experience. Ongoing feedback is supplemented with two reviews during each rotation. In addition, our firm Chair, Dale H. Lastman, holds monthly lunches with all of the articling students to answer questions, discuss your concerns and keep you informed of developments in the firm.

While the bulk of any lawyer's or student's training comes from hands-on experience, we supplement this with an extensive legal education program. Designed both to ensure you gain exposure to a wide variety of areas in our firm as well as to teach you some of the fundamentals of our practice, the program helps you progress up the learning curve so that you can quickly begin to assume significant responsibility on matters and transactions.


2017/2018 Articling Students

Christopher Baxter
Dalhousie University
416.849.6003
cbaxter@goodmans.ca

Luke Bell
University of Tasmania, Australia
416.849.6011
lbell@goodmans.ca

Amanda Bertucci
University of Toronto
416.549.9622
abertucci@goodmans.ca

Courtney Briggs
Queen’s University
416.849.6975
cbriggs@goodmans.ca

Brendan Dean
Queen’s University
416.849.6004
bdean@goodmans.ca

Christopher Ferencz
University of Ottawa
416.849.6951
cferencz@goodmans.ca

 

Niki Kermani
University of Toronto
416.849.6005
nkermani@goodmans.ca


 

Cobi Lechem
University of Western Ontario
416.849.6953
clechem@goodmans.ca


 

Danielle Levesque
Dalhousie University
416.849.6967
dlevesque@goodmans.ca

Andrew Schipper
Queen’s University
416.849.6006
aschipper@goodmans.ca

 

Elliot Seetner
Osgoode Hall Law School
416.849.6977
eseetner@goodmans.ca

Tom Spelt
Queen’s University
416.849.6007
tspelt@goodmans.ca