"Goodmans is what I was looking for: a friendly, supportive environment within which to practise great law". - Jane Scholes, Goodmans Student
Goodmans Students

Our Articling Program

Our articling program works on a rotation basis that gives you exposure to four different sections of the firm.  Students can choose from rotations in Business law, Banking law, Real Estate law, Restructuring, Taxation, Litigation, Administrative law and more.  A number of you will also have the opportunity to work directly with the law department of one of our major clients. Because every student has different goals and interests, we look to you to play an active role in selecting the areas of practice which are right for you. And as your goals often change during the year, we continue to meet during the year to assess how your rotation choices can best fulfill your needs. 

Each section has a student mentor who meets with you on a regular basis to find out how you're progressing and ensure that you're getting a well-rounded experience. Ongoing feedback is supplemented with two reviews during each rotation. In addition, our firm Chair, Dale Lastman, holds monthly lunches with all of the articling students to answer questions, discuss your concerns and keep you informed of developments in the firm.

While the bulk of any lawyer's or student's training comes from hands-on experience, we supplement this with an extensive legal education program. Designed both to ensure you gain exposure to a wide variety of areas in our firm as well as to teach you some of the fundamentals of our practice, the program helps you progress up the learning curve so that you can quickly begin to assume significant responsibility on matters and transactions.

 

2015/2016 Articling Students


Lindsay Board
Western Law School

Julian Di Bartolomeo
Osgoode Hall Law School

Kyle Gerow
University of Toronto

Theresa Kennedy
University of Windsor

Rosel Kim
McGill University


Sarah Macchione
University of Toronto


Max Mandel
University of Toronto

Randy McAuley
Western Law School

Rebecca Olscher
Western Law School

Elliot Pobjoy
University of Toronto

Michael Richards
Osgoode Hall Law School

Jane Scholes
Western Law School

Connor Spelliscy
Queen’s University

Paloma van Groll
University of Toronto
   
   

2014/2015 Articling Students


Jeremy Burgess
University of Toronto
jburgess@goodmans.ca


Jonathan Chan
University of Toronto
jchan@goodmans.ca


David Cohen
Osgoode Hall Law School
dacohen@goodmans.ca


Jesse-Ross Cohen
Osgoode Hall Law School
jcohen@goodmans.ca


Kathleen Farrell
Osgoode Hall Law School
kfarrell@goodmans.ca


Carlie Fox
University of Toronto
cfox@goodmans.ca

Kayla Goldrich
Osgoode Hall Law School
kgoldrich@goodmans.ca

Kirby Goldstein
Queen's University
kgoldstein@goodmans.ca


Richard Ha
University of Ottawa
rha@goodmans.ca


Jamie Habert
Western Law School
jhabert@goodmans.ca


Joanne Homza
University of Ottawa
jhomza@goodmans.ca


Vanessa Hui
University of Toronto
vhui@goodmans.ca


Max Laskin
University of Toronto
mlaskin@goodmans.ca


Miguel Mangalindan
University of Windsor
mmangalindan@goodmans.ca


Matthew Prager
Western Law School
mprager@goodmans.ca


Matthew Rossetti
University of Windsor
mrossetti@goodmans.ca


Melanie Thomas
Osgoode Hall Law School
mthomas@goodmans.ca


Samantha Woolley
Western Law School
swoolley@goodmans.ca

Recruitment News:

2015/2016 Articling Recruitment - Toronto

We will not be hiring any additional 2015/2016 articling students from outside of our 2014 summer student
group.  For a list of our students, please refer to our Student Directory.